General Update

Over the break I accomplished several things.

1. I started work on some more tutorials. I’m going to be working on a guide that takes someone from not knowing anything about game development to the point where they (hopefully) feel comfortable working on their own game by themselves. This is a long-term project.

2. I decided to scale back the X-Com inspired game. I’m going to take the FPS portion of the game and make it more of an arcade type “waves of enemies” mini game; a “demo” of the FPS capabilities I’ve developed. I have most of the code for the FPS portion done, including pathfinding and some limited AI. I need to begin work on art assets. This is a short-term project.

3. I am going to shift my professional focus and hopefully make a career change in the next six month to year. I’ve done game dev as a hobby up to this point. It worked nicely as I used C# for both the .NET development and Unity game dev. I want to shift my focus to C++ and work towards getting a job in the game industry. I’ll also be focusing my game dev projects on more short-term time frames in order to demonstrate my abilities as a programmer. Overall, this is a long-term project.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a comment